Police Filed Charges against 31 Protesters of December 19

11.01.2011 11:27
Архив Редакция

Belarusian police filed charges against 31 members of mass protests, taken place in Minsk after the presidential elections in the evening of December 19 and the night of December 20. According to Minsk police spokesman Alexander Lastovski, there were found over 120 people, actively participated in the mass actions.

«As part of a criminal investigation, initiated under Part 1, 2 Article 293 of the Criminal Code of Belarus (riots), Bureau of preliminary Investigation of Minsk City Executive Committee found more than 120 people, actively participated in the riots. At present, 31 of them are charged,» Lastovski said, RIA Novosti.

According to him, the involvement of the accused is established through the numerous videotapes.

Police site shows photographs of some of the defendants: Alexander Klaskovski, Nikita Likhovid, Alexander Atroshchenkov, Oleg Fedorkevich, Vladimir Homichenko, in particular.

Recall that thousands of opposition supporters held an unauthorized rally at Kastrychnitskaya Square in Minsk after the presidential election in Belarus, where Alexander Lukashenko, according to the official results, won a landslide victory. A few people started beating the window glass at Government House.

The action was suppressed by the internal troops and Special Forces. About 600 protesters, including 11 Russians, were sentenced to administrative arrest.

At the same time, seven opposition candidates for president were charged with organizing the riots.

December 9 the Belarusian TV showed a documentary film «The Square. Iron on the glass,» which reported that, according to the State Border Committee of the country, a series of attacks had been planned on the day of presidential elections in Belarus.

In addition, the film claimed that the beating of a presidential candidate Vladimir Niakliaeu had been initiated not by policemen, but by his opposition colleagues — the presidential candidates Andrei Sannikov, Vital Rymasheuski and Nikolai Statkevich.

Source: Korrespondent.net